Menu Donate Request our help

Helpline: 0300 102 1919

Shortlist announced for 2019 RAF Benevolent Fund Awards

The RAF Benevolent Fund has announced the shortlisted nominees for our upcoming annual awards ceremony. The winners of the nine award categories will be revealed at a special service in London on June 27.

Nominations were open to the public via the RAF Benevolent Fund website, and shortlisted members were carefully selected by a panel of expert judges. The awards celebrate and recognise the stand-out contributions made by a few of the many dedicated individuals and corporate partners who support the RAF Benevolent Fund.

The shortlist, in alphabetical order, is:


Shortlist 2019


Above & Beyond

SAC Mark Bisset

Si Footer

John White

Airplay Youth Worker of the Year

Sarah Marum, RAFC Cranwell

Kathryn Smith, RAF Waddington

Sharon Pollard, RAF Wittering

Air Training Corps Squadron or University Air Squadron of the Year

282 East Ham Air Cadets

University Birmingham Air Squadron

Yorkshire Universities Air Squadron

Corporate Fundraising Activity of the Year

Co-op Lincolnshire Ltd

Faithorn Farrell Timms

Heroes Drinks

Fundraising Team of the Year

The April Fools’ Club

Kinloss RAF Widows

RAF 100 Celebration Team – Broomhall Estate

Outstanding Support from an Organisation

Ascot Racecourse


University of the Highlands and Islands Moray College

RAF Station of the Year

RAF Fylingdales

RAF Henlow

RAF Odiham

RAF Stations Challenge Cup

MOD Abbey Wood

RAF Halton

RAF Honington

Welfare Caseworker of the Year

Peter McGraghan

John Sharpe MBE

Stephen Uzzell


For more information about the RAF Benevolent Fund Awards, please contact Ellen Brooks, Special Events Manager, on 020 7307 3321 or

Related articles:

Sign up to receive the RAFBF e-newsletter